Back On The Bank

Well it’s been a long time since I last updated my blog, and I have been putting it off due to circumstances which took place over the past six months.  My father, Peter, was diagnosed with Motor Nueron Disease  in November and passed away in January. To say it was a shock was an understatement as he was such a fit and energetic man who really lived his life to the fullest.

I am not going to go into the details of his illness or how incredibly brave he was, as he documented this himself in an article that was published in the Irish Times before his untimely passing. What I would like to do in the coming months is write about some of our fishing adventures together, which spanned 25 years here in Ireland. We had so many good times on the bank, and it would be a shame not to share them  here. It is going to take me some time to scan in the old photos to really do them justice, but I look forward to relaying some of our eventful fishing trips on these pages.

I seem to have had a mental block with my writing since losing dad and have not had the passion to put words down, but I know if he was looking down, he would want me to carry on with the blog because he said he really enjoyed some of my articles. The one thing he didn’t like was the title, which was a bit tongue in cheek, but he reckoned it lowered the tone of the page. I decided to take his advice and use one of the suggestions he put to me, so now the blog will be known as Running Ledger.

dad and paul fishing

On the angling front, I have been making quite a few trips out this year, and found my time at the waterside really helps with getting over dads loss, however my catch returns have not made pleasant reading. My pike fishing trips were barren to say the least and apart from some welcome jack pike, I didn’t really connect with anything substantial apart from one mid-double girl early in the season.

Unlike last year where I stuck it out on a couple of waters, I decided this winter to put on my exploring hat and ended up doing a lot of river fishing. I spent hours gleaning over ordinance survey maps looking for interesting back waters, marinas and likely looking pike hotspots. Did I uncover any? well I may have possibly, but the pike certainly weren’t in a biting mood, the days I visited.

iphone 996

As quickly as winter had arrived, it was gone again and my thoughts turned to the usual summer species. I had been pondering about targeting some big hybrids and roach for a while and over the winter months I decided on a new venue to work on in between tench sessions. I didn’t have much info to go on apart from some water framework directive reports and a gut feeling.

To tackle a decent sized water, you really need to give it at least season of proper fishing, if you want to try and crack its code.  There are some waters I have been fishing for quite a few years yet I still feel I haven’t even scratched the surface with them. They all have their moods, and fish differently in certain conditions. Keeping a diary is a good start and the more information you enter the better the chances are that you will find a trend.

prebait2prebaitMy plan was to get as much feed as humanely possible into the lake to try and get the fish into the area I planned to concentrate on. This can be time consuming, costly, and a lot of hard work, but if you want to do something properly, a lot of effort and drive is needed.  I set about a prebaiting campaign which involved a lot of spombing and spodding and long range catapulting. A boat is really the best tool for the job but if you are organized you can manage to get a good amount of bait into a swim without one.

iphone 323

I started to do some short morning and evening sessions around St Patricks day and although I did get some fish, I didn’t land anything special. However I was in this for the long haul and nothing good ever comes easily. It wasn’t until April that some better fish started to come out and although I was getting plenty of shoal sized hybrids in the 2-3lb bracket, it was some big roach that I caught that gave me an inclining that I might be on the right track. Fish to a few ounces shy of 2lb made a welcome appearance and gave me the confidence to carry on baiting the lake up for the remainder of the season.

roach

It was also during April that my Aunt and Uncle came over from the UK to visit for a long weekend. It was lovely seeing them again after far too long.  Since the last time I had seen my uncle he had also caught the fishing bug. Living where he does in Suffolk, didn’t give him much best scope to fish for Salmon or Sea Trout, two species he had never caught before, and it was agreed we would hit one of my local marks to try and right that.

On the Sunday morning we headed off to a local spot on the beach armed with a fly rod and a drop shot rod, hedging our bets that one method would work. This was earlier in the season than I would normally go after them but I had heard reports that there fish were about and being caught. We hit the beach ninety minutes before low tide and spread out to try and find some bars of silver hiding between the sandbars and kelp strewn rocks.

tim

My uncle, Tim, had travelled some distance the year before with a friend of his, to fish the famous river Towey in Wales, home to enormous sea trout.  When planning those trips you can never negate for weather conditions, and hundreds of miles of driving were wasted when the river turned out to be in flood. This made me all the more determined to try and put us on some fish, but forty five minutes into the session, things weren’t looking too good as I hadn’t seen anything move.

The tide was moving out quite quickly and as the sand bars got bigger, the remaining water gathered into smaller pools and it was in one of these that I spotted my first trout. Not one to miss a chance, I called Tim over to where I had seen it, and as luck would have it a few more started to show. I soon noticed that the widely spread out sea trout were now confined to these smaller pools and this would give us our best chance of connecting with some.

tim1

The first cast into the spot saw me connect with a super fish of about 2lb which fought like a tiger in the shallow clear water. Next cast saw Tim hook a fish and after a couple of nerve biting minutes of acrobatic flips, jumps and powerful runs,  he was proudly holding his first ever Sea Trout. The huge smile on his face made the experience all the better. He couldn’t believe how lucky I was to have such amazing fishing on my doorstep coupled with the breathtaking scenery that surrounded us.

For the next half an hour we managed to land seven good sea trout and lose as many again, with one or two really good fish spitting the hook mid fight. It was a perfect session and one of those red letter days that come along once every so often. I was just glad he was there to enjoy it.

sea trout

As May came around the corner, I deviated from the trout and silvers and made my way back out for my first tench session of the season. All winter I had been musing over various lakes which needed to be fished along with reading up on new and improved tactics and of course fine tuning the tench gear.

My aim this year is to beat my personal best of 7lb10ozs but to be honest, catching any decent tench is a pleasure, especially ones as beautiful and hard fighting as the wild ones we have here in Ireland. I kicked off my season at a social for the Tenchfishers club of Ireland on a quiet lake in Longford. It was great to catch up with the who’s who of Irish tenchers, even if the weather was more suited to Pike angling. With howling gale force winds and pummeling hail and snow it was no surprise that the tench didn’t pop out for a meet and greet.

sunset

My next few trips saw me head back to a lake I had been fishing on and off for the past couple of years. The water is a real ballbreaker and blanks are the norm, but there is always a chance of a decent fish if you put the hours in. It wasn’t until my fourth trip till I managed to get my first bite of the year. With the light fading and thoughts turning to the long trip home after another fishless session, my float bobbed then lifted right out before sailing away.

As I struck, the power of the fish as it tore out from the swim, reminded me what I had been missing all through the cold winter months. As with most battles in this lake, it was all about brute force as I gave everything to stop it getting deep into the jungle of weed. The fights always seem to last for ages but in reality, they are normally over in less than ninety seconds. They are a far cry from winching them in from distance on heavy rods, as you get to feel every lunge and surge as you both try to second guess each other.

tench

As soon as I lifted the landing net, I realised I had just caught an old friend again from last year, what were the chances. The distinct chunk missing from her tail meant it was the 7lb 8oz fish I had caught last May. I zeroed the scales against the sling and popped her in. The initial reading on my Avon dial scales was 7lb 12ozs. I decided to check it again with my Rueben flywieights, and these gave me a reading of between 7lb 6ozs and 7lb 8ozs. I rechecked the Avons and this time they gave me a reading of 7lb 6oz, so I settled for that.

7lb6oz girth

I had remembered to bring a measuring tape with me, as I had not got any details from her last time. From the tail to snout she measured 59cms or just shy of 23 inches in old money. Around her belly her circumference went 44cms or just over 17 inches. It was interesting to see she is a longer fish than my personal best and I have no doubt later in the season would be close to 8lb. However there was slight disappointment that I had caught the same Tench again and not a new one. My thoughts about the lake having a small stock of fish may run true.

5lb3oz

I managed three more sessions there in the past 10 days and I have managed just one more fish which was a lovely male of 5lb 3oz. Both fish came on the float and took corn and maggot cocktail. I have another lake I have been meaning to fish for a while, with the only thing putting me off being the long walk.  I think now is the time to bite the bullet, travel light to see what she has to offer. I will also be back out after the big perch that I was targeting during the Autumn. Suffice to say I have my eye on a fish which was far bigger I caught in September, watch this space.

iphone 1182

Posted on June 3, 2015, in Bream, Perch, Pike, Sea Trout, Tench and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. A good read as usual Ben, sorry to hear about your dad, and he was right about the name of the blog, it’s current title is much more fitting. Looking forward to the next one,
    Cheers,
    Mark

  2. Great blog as usual Ben. Sorry for your loss. Agree with the title change also. Keep up the great work.

    Gary

Leave a Reply

